Teaching Piano to Disabled Students from Afar

Piano teacher Mark Miller uses Skype to meet the needs of disabled students around the world. I don’t know if I was more excited by this story of a stroke patient

When Kay Breslin, one of Miller’s former local students suffered a stroke that left her paralyzed on one side, she never thought she would play music again. But a chance encounter with Miller inspired a friend of Breslin’s to encourage her to try again, with the use of her functional hand. Miller had said he could write some arrangements for her.

“I didn’t want to do it,” Breslin says from her home in Chicago. “I didn’t think it would sound like anything . . . and then my friend commissioned Mark to write some arrangements for my birthday. It was the beginning of something wonderful. It’s brought something back into my life that was very precious.”

or by the remote teaching method. I do know I’ve been working next to lonely piano for too long. I’ve thought about left-hand repertory for a long time. Hmmm..

Teaching piano to disabled students from afar