Spring Fever

It got into the fifties here in Washington today and the sun has finally broken through the clouds. We're looking for temperatures in the sixties tomorrow. We celebrated by taking the first of many trips, I hope, to Lake Accotink. It was strange being there when so few people were around, but we saw quite a few fishermen and met a former State Department employee who had interesting stories about times in Kashmir and Cuba and who told of a Blue Heron on the lake that we will be sure to watch for. As it was, we enjoyed watching one pair of ducks and several pair of geese. Even with all their splashing the water was very calm.

I walked a little further on the trail around the lake than I have in the past, and I enjoyed feeling the warm sun on my jacket. This is, I hope, the first of many trips this year to Lake Accotink, Fort Hunt, and Riverside Park.