Catchup

Well, I did more yesterday than just take a walk in the park. I saw SpeakeasyDC mentioned in a notice about the Big Read in the Washington Post's book section. When I checked the organization's web site for details, I found many audio and video samples of their storytelling sessios, and they were really interesting. I was also interested in their storytelling classes. I'd like to visit some of their monthly open mics not only for the fun of it but also to see how I might improve my own storytelling.

I also came across the web page of the Northern Virgina Literacy Council and realized that teaching literacy skills is another attractive volunteer opportunity. Looks like this group asks for a nine-month commitment of 1 or 2 hours a week. I've nearly completed an application to volunteer at Virginia Hospital Center, but I'll definitely keep this option in mind.

And I never noted last week that we went downtown to see the cherry blossoms around the Tidal Basin. which were glorious as usual. Just as exciting was that my wife and I have made a stop at Matchbox Pizza a part of this springtime event. This is probably my favorite pizza in town, and up till now I have only been able to enjoy a carry-out meal. This year I was able to walk into the restaurant and enjoy myself thoroughly. As a sidelight, I didn't go very far in the neighborhood, but even in a short distance I found H Street much changed.