A Day's Work

James Beard Raisin Nut Bread
Tonight's the regular meeting of a stroke support that I've been attending, and I volunteered to bring part of the snacks. (Seemed like a better idea when I couldn't possibly have known that baking day would fall in the middle of a heat wave, temperatures hovering around 90.) I started out with a James Beard recipe for raisin nut bread, a rich loaf made with milk, honey, and butter. I guess the activity got my wife wanting more, so I also made another of D. B. Currie's recipes, this one a cinammon swirl that's unusual for me because the dough is made with mashed bananas and olive oil and the filling is made with brown sugar instead of refined. I wish I didn't have to wait till tomorrow to try one of these.

D. B. Currie has been contributing all kinds of tempting recipes to Serious Eats, and I've been getting good results with every one I've tried. Right now I've got my eye on a recent Tomato Cheese bread to take for my contribution to a Fourth of July picnic.