books

Reading has always been important to me, and I'm glad that I'm still able to read, even if I have slowed down a bit. I think that I read with more of a purpose now. Still to entertain and to learn, but also to remember. I've purposely increased my rereading of books because it seems to help me reclaim part of my past. As I look at things I've already read, I also recall what I was doing when I read the book, where I was, what I was thinking. Books I've revisited include The Hobbit, The Aeneid, and Emma. Books I'm enjoying for the first time around include Walter Isaacson's biography of Einstein, Frank Rich's The Greatest Story Ever Sold, and James Herriot's The Lord God Made Them All.

I was really pleased to receive a gift of Audiobooks earlier this year. It's a little hard to handle a book with just one hand, so this has made it easier for me to read and has increased the amount of reading I can get done.

Right now I'm enjoying working through Heat, another gift. I love to eat and to cook, and found myself drawn to Food Network shows when watching TV was my only form of enjoyment. Mario Battali's was my favorite show by far, so getting to know more about the real man is welcome. Maybe not so welcome is finding out what it's really like to work in a restaurant kitchen. The writing is lively, and the portraits of cooks are really well done.